Eating Gluten-Free Products

Publication Date: 
Wed, 03/20/2013
By: Alere Staff

People who have celiac disease, a genetic immune disorder, cannot tolerate a protein called gluten. According to the National Institutes of Health, Celiac disease runs in families and can sometimes be triggered—or becomes active for the first time—after surgery, pregnancy, childbirth, viral infection, or severe emotional stress. Gluten is found mainly in foods, often in wheat, rye, and barley, but may also be found in everyday products such as medicines, vitamins, and lip balms

If you have been diagnosed with Celiac disease and must follow a strictly gluten-free diet, you may be surprised to realize how many gluten-free products, such as bread and pasta, are now available. Taking warfarin while following a gluten-free diet may seem tricky, but you can still make healthy food choices. If you can't find any gluten-free products in your area, check with a celiac support group or go online.

Although there is no specific “warfarin diet”, it is important to pay attention to what you eat while taking warfarin as some foods and beverage can alter the effectiveness of warfarin. The most important thing to remember is to remain consistent with your diet.

Consistency in diet means to be aware of the type of foods you choose every day, pay attention to your portion sizes and be aware of the frequency you consume foods high in vitamin K. You can check with our Vitamin K Finder to easily keep track of vitamin K in food you eat.

If you’re just starting with a gluten-free diet, it’s a good idea to consult a dietitian who can answer your questions and offer advice about how to create a gluten-free diet with consistent amounts of Vitamin K.